Notes On Blog Design: Hit Me With Suggestions

I’m not particularly thrilled with the design of this blog. I mean, it’s fine and all, but something’s missing.  It’s minimal of course, which is a good for a writing blog, but still, it needs…..well….something.

I love Chuck Wendig’s layout which is a novel use of a premium wordpress theme, but, I’ll say it here and now, I AIN”T (say it like Tom Sawyer if you want) shelling out more than two public hairs for a blog theme.

So, what to do?  I’m not sure.

I’ve been having a lot of thoughts on text and how it looks on the screen. I know the basics:  decent sized font (I still say mine is a step too small), not too chaotic of a background that draws your eyes away from the text, black on white works best,  yada yada yada.

I look at tons of other blogs trying to get design ideas for both the text and the general design of the thing, like menus and whatnot.  But I feel like I’m missing some greater truth about design alone.

So, I turn to you, faithful reader.  What ideas do you have for the visual presentation of this here self-aggrandizing author-fest?

Leave a comment

Filed under Site Design

Leave a Reply

